Chibimagic's Weblog

posix_spawn(“/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/MobileDevice.framework/Versions/A/Resources/usbmuxd”, …): No such file or directory

Posted on: November 21, 2010

I installed Xcode 3.2.4 and the new iOS SDK last night.

Today my iPhone and iPad wouldn’t show up in iTunes 10.1 and my system.log was filled with the following message:
posix_spawn("/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/MobileDevice.framework/Versions/A/Resources/usbmuxd", ...): No such file or directory

Turns out my entire MobileDevice.framework folder was pretty much wiped out. Which makes no sense, because Xcode + iOS SDK is supposed to install more iPhone frameworks, not delete what you already have!

Anyway, I redownloaded and reinstalled Xcode and now everything’s fine. The only thing I can think of is that I was upgrading my Ruby gems last night around the same time. Boo software collisions. Lesson? When in doubt, reinstall.

4 Responses to "posix_spawn(“/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/MobileDevice.framework/Versions/A/Resources/usbmuxd”, …): No such file or directory"

I just had exactly the same thing happen to me. I was running iPhoto while xcode installed.

Thanks for the heads up, a reinstall did the trick for me too (no need to redownload)

BTW I tried restoring the files from a time machine backup but that didn’t work, wrong version of the files so I just got lots of usbmuxd crashes.

Thanks for making a blog post about this. It still happens with XCode 3.2.6 that I downloaded a few weeks ago (September 2011). Pretty weird that this installerbug has been in existence for so long and Apple hasn’t noticed/cared. Re-installing XCode indeed installs usbmuxd (at which point my already-connected iphone buzzes in joy).

Thanks for posting this, I would have been looking for hours for a solution.

[…] Some googling did though show me this blog entry. […]

Leave a Reply

